Cast announced for Originals Playwriting Award's three shortlisted plays

original theatre originals

Casts have been announced for the three plays shortlisted for Original Theatre’s Originals Playwriting Award.

The Original Theatre Company will present the trio of plays this week with script-in-hand performances at London’s Riverside Studios.


The performances begin on 30 June with Eilidh Nurse’s Miles starring Cristian Ortega, Hitfu Quasem, Gary Lewis and Lewis Mackinnon with direction from Amelia Sears.

On 1 July Drew Hewitt’s The Fall is next in the line-up, starring Alex Kingston, Tyger Drew Honey, Adrian Lukis and Sara Stewart with direction from Charlotte Peters.

Finally on 2 July is Teunkie Van Der Sluijs’ Tikkun Olam starring Diana Quick, Luke Thompson, Debbie Korley and Jake Fairbrother with direction from Michael Boyd.

For more information and tickets, visit

You’ll also be able to watch the plays live or stream via

Launched in collaboration with Riverside Studios, The Originals Playwriting Award is designed for early career playwrights. It strives to innovate production opportunities with a brand-new production model giving more opportunities to scripts that otherwise might not be seen.

Each of those shortlisted receive £2000, with the winner announced post the performances receiving a further £5000. All performances will be filmed and streamed at Riverside Studios by North South and will be available to watch once the live performances have concluded.

Alastair Whatley said: “After months of work enjoying hundreds of plays submitted by writers all over the UK, our Originals Playwriting Award reaches a thrilling climax with all three plays performed on three consecutive nights by three world class acting companies.

“I cannot wait to share these fantastic plays with audiences in person at Riverside Studios and around the world through the wonders of live streaming.”

Follow on Twitter
Follow on Twitter
Like on Facebook