Hairspray 2021 UK tour cast revealed with Brenda Edwards and Norman Pace

hairspray Brenda Edwards and Norman Pace

The full cast for the new 2021 UK Hairspray musical tour has been confirmed!

The new touring production is scheduled to begin performances in June in Plymouth.


Hairspray 2021 UK tour cast

Brenda Edwards and Norman Pace are to star in the show in the roles of Motormouth Maybelle and Wilbur Turnblad respectively.

Katie Brace will play Tracy Turnblad with Alex Bourne as Edna Turnblad, Rebecca Thornhill as Velma, Richard Meek as Corny Collins, Ross Clifton as Link Larkin, Jessica Croll as Amber Von Tussle, Rebecca Jane Davies as Penny Pingleton and Charlotte St Croix as Little Inez.

Completing the company are Elizabeth Armstrong, Bernadette Bangura, Natalia Brown, Shaquille Brush, Liam Dean, Andrew Dillion, Amandla Elynah, Zoe Heighton, Ceris Hine, Paul Hutton, Jamie Jonathan, Hayley Johnston, Joshua Nkemdilim, Rosie O’Hare, Alexanda O’Reilly, Joshua Pearson, Joseph Poulton and Elliotte Williams-N’Dure.

Edwards tweeted: “So the news is out and I’m really excited to be heading out on tour this year with @HairsprayUKTour its such an amazing feel good show and just what we need! #youcantstopthebeat”

Based on the 1980s movie of the same name, Hairspray is set in 1960s Baltimore, Maryland and follows Tracy Turnblad as her dream to dance on The Corny Collins Show turns into a campaign for racial integration.

The musical made its debut on Broadway in 2002 and features a book by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan with music by Marc Shaiman and lyrics by Shaiman and Scott Wittman.

The tour production – which is separate from the new London production – will be directed by Paul Kerryson with choreography from Drew McOnie.

Hairspray tour tickets, dates and venues

The tour is currently scheduled to open in June at the Theatre Royal Plymouth before touring across the UK throughout 2021 and into 2022.

Dates have been confirmed for Cheltenham, Southampton, Manchester, Sheffield, Ipswich, Aylesbury, Edinburgh, Bradford, Brighton, Birmingham, Leicester, Nottingham, Wolverhampton and Blackpool.

Follow on Twitter
Follow on Twitter
Like on Facebook