Olivier Awards nominations 2020: Full list of this year's Olivier Awards nominations

2020 Olivier Awards nominations revealed

Olivier Awards 2020 nominations

It’s the 2020 Olivier Awards soon and the full list of nominations have been revealed.

The Olivier Award Nominations 2020 have been revealed ahead of the the 2020 Olivier Awards in October.


Jason Manford will host this year’s Olivier Awards – the biggest night in British theatre – for a third time.

Widely recognised as the most prestigious stage honours, this year’s Olivier Awards will take place virtually.

As well as the awards themselves, there will be a host of special performances from a variety of Olivier nominated musicals.

The 2020 Laurence Olivier Awards will take place on Sunday, October 25.

See the full list of this year’s nominations below…

2020 Olivier Award nominations

Mastercard Best New Musical

& Juliet
Amélie The Musical
Dear Evan Hansen

Best Actress in a Musical

Audrey Brisson, Amélie The Musical
Judy Kuhn, Fiddler On The Roof
Miriam-Teak Lee, & Juliet
Zizi Strallen, Mary Poppins

Best Actor in a Musical

Andy Nyman, Fiddler On The Roof
Charlie Stemp, Mary Poppins
Sam Tutty, Dear Evan Hansen
Jac Yarrow, Joseph And The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat

Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical

Lucy Anderson, Dear Evan Hansen
Petula Clark, Mary Poppins
Cassidy Janson, & Juliet
Lauren Ward, Dear Evan Hansen

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical

David Bedella, & Juliet
Stewart Clarke, Fiddler On The Roof
Jack Loxton, Dear Evan Hansen
Rupert Young, Dear Evan Hansen


Best Original Score or New Orchestrations

& Juliet, New Orchestrations by Bill Sherman and Dominic Fallacaro
Amélie The Musical, Musical Supervisor and Arrangements by Barnaby Race
Dear Evan Hansen, Music and Lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Orchestration by Alex Lacamoire
Fiddler On The Roof, New Orchestrations by Jason Carr
Waitress, Music and Lyrics by Sara Bareilles

Magic Radio Best Musical Revival

Fiddler On The Roof
Joseph And The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
Mary Poppins

American Airlines Best New Play

A Very Expensive Poison
The Doctor
The Ocean At The End Of The Lane

Sir Peter Hall Award for Best Director

Marianne Elliott and Miranda Cromwell, Death Of A Salesman
Jamie Lloyd, Cyrano De Bergerac
Trevor Nunn, Fiddler On The Roof
Ian Rickson, Uncle Vanya

Best Actress

Hayley Atwell, Rosmersholm
Sharon D. Clarke, Death Of A Salesman
Juliet Stevenson, The Doctor
Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag

Best Actor

Toby Jones, Uncle Vanya
James McAvoy, Cyrano De Bergerac
Wendell Pierce, Death Of A Salesman
Andrew Scott, Present Laughter

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Michele Austin, Cyrano De Bergerac
Sophie Thompson, Present Laughter
Indira Varma, Present Laughter
Josie Walker, The Ocean At The End Of The Lane

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Arinzé Kene, Death Of A Salesman
Colin Morgan, All My Sons
Adrian Scarborough, Leopoldstadt
Reece Shearsmith, A Very Expensive Poison

Cunard Best Revival

Cyrano De Bergerac
Death Of A Salesman
Present Laughter

Outstanding Achievement in Opera

Jette Parker Young Artists for their performances in Berenice, Death In Venice and Phaedra
The Children’s Ensemble for their performance in Noye’s Fludde
Martyn Brabbins and James Henshaw for their conducting of The Mask of Orpheus for English National Opera

Best New Opera Production

Billy Budd
Hansel And Gretel
Noye’s Fludde

Blue-I Theatre Technology Award for Best Set Design

Bob Crowley, Mary Poppins
Soutra Gilmour, & Juliet
Rae Smith, Rosmersholm
Rae Smith, Uncle Vanya

Best Costume Design

Hugh Durrant, Goldilocks And The Three Bears
Jonathan Lipman, Fiddler On The Roof
Joanna Scotcher, Emilia
Paloma Young, & Juliet


Royal Albert Hall Award for Best Sound Design

Gregory Clarke, Rosmersholm
Emma Laxton, Emilia
Ben and Max Ringham, ANNA
Ben and Max Ringham, Cyrano De Bergerac

White Light Award for Best Lighting Design

Neil Austin, Rosmersholm
Paule Constable, The Ocean At The End Of The Lane
Howard Hudson, & Juliet
Bruno Poet, Uncle Vanya

Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate Theatre

Baby Reindeer, Bush Theatre
Blues in the Night, Kiln Theatre
Our Lady of Kibeho, Theatre Royal Stratford East
Seven Methods of Killing Kylie Jenner, Jerwood Upstairs, Royal Court
Warheads, Park Theatre

Best Family Show

Mr Gum And The Dancing Bear – The Musical!
Oi Frog & Friends!
To The Moon And Back
The Worst Witch

Best Theatre Choreographer

Fabian Aloise, Evita
Matthew Bourne and Stephen Mear, Mary Poppins
Jerome Robbins and Matt Cole, Fiddler On The Roof
Jennifer Weber, & Juliet

Noel Coward Award for Best Entertainment or Comedy Play

Magic Goes Wrong
The Upstart Crow

Outstanding Achievement in Dance

Sara Baras for her choreography and performance in Ballet Flamenco – Sombras
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker for her performance in Mitten Wir Im Leben Sind/Bach6Cellosuiten
Gisèle Vienne for her choreography of Crowd, presented by Dance Umbrella

Best New Dance Production

La Fiesta, Israel Galván
Ingoma, Mthuthuzeli November for Ballet Black
MÁM, Michael Keegan-Dolan for Teaċ Daṁsa
Vessel, Damien Jalet & Kohei Nawa

Society Special Award

Jo Hawes, Thelma Holt, Stephen Jameson, Sarah Preece and Peter Roberts

Follow on Twitter
Follow on Twitter
Like on Facebook